Inside The Music

Volumes 1-3

by Dave Stewart

Dave's popular audio-visual Inside The Music music articles explain the inner workings of Stewart / Gaskin songs, including transcriptions of keyboard parts, vocal harmonies, guitar chords and drum parts. Originally published online and now available as downloadable eBooks, the articles contain notation, audio clips, lyrics, photos, extensive song and recording notes, musical insights and autobiographical details from the composer. Barbara Gaskin and guitarist Beren Matthews also contribute comments.

Inside The Music Volume 1      Inside The Music Volume 2      Inside The Music Volume 3

The Inside The Music online series began in 2009 with a deconstruction of the Stewart / Gaskin song 'Jupiter Rising'. The series resumed in 2020 with a new collection of songs from the duo's Star Clocks album, along with a lavish deconstruction of the epic 'New Jerusalem' containing drum parts and notes by Gavin Harrison. Beren Matthews also contributed guitar videos. The 2020 articles are now available in Inside The Music Volume 3, which includes a hitherto unpublished article on 'Ride the High Atlantic Wind'. A fascinating, engagingly written glimpse into the unique musical mind of one of the UK's most respected keyboardists and composers.

Available now from our online store.

Vol. 1 Contents

Foreword / 1. Jupiter Rising (Part 1) / 2. Jupiter Rising (Part 2) / 3. Waiting In The Wings
4. Henry & James (Part 1) / 5. Henry & James (Part 2)* / 6. The Emperor's New Guitar
7. Star Blind / 8. Credits

Vol. 2 Contents

Foreword / 1. Golden Rain / 2. As Far As Dreams Can Go / 3. Walnut Tree Walk
4. Let Me Sleep Tonight / 5. Busy Doing Nothing (Part 1) / 6. Busy Doing Nothing (Part 2)
7. Your Lucky Star / 8. Credits

Vol. 3 Contents

Foreword / 1. Wings On Our Shoes (Part 1) / 2. Wings On Our Shoes (Part 2) / 3. Heavy Heart
4. Ride the High Atlantic Wind / 5. New Jerusalem (Part 1) / 6. New Jerusalem (Part 2A - Parts & Arrangement)
7. New Jerusalem (Part 2B - Drums & Recording Notes) / 8. Drizzle Cloaks / 9. Time's Arrow / 10. Credits

(* Keyboard Flexidisc arrangement)

Return to top

Back to home page

All text, images and audio files on this website copyright of Broken Records, UK.
Please do not reprint, upload or share without permission. Thank you!